Note:This scholarly essay is part of a research project submitted in partial fulfillment of the degree of Doctor of Musical Arts in the School of Music. The project also involved the preparation and performance of two lecture recitals related to the essay topic.

Files in this item



application/pdfYi-Hung Ma_Scholarly Essay.pdf (9MB)Restricted to U of Illinois
(no description provided)PDF


Title:David Ellis's seven solo and chamber works for double bass: A performer's guide
Author(s):Ma, Yi-Hung
Advisor(s):Cameron, Michael
Contributor(s):Cameron, Michael; Moersch, Charlotte Mattax; Silvers, Michael; Solya, Andrea
Department / Program:School of Music
Degree Granting Institution:University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
Degree:A.Mus.D. (doctoral)
Subject(s):David Ellis
double bass
chamber works
solo works
New Manchester school
British composers
Peter Maxwell Davies
John Ogdon
Rodney Slatford
Yorke edition
David Heyes
recital music
Leon Bosch
Sonata for unaccompanied double bass
Safranski's Heroic Leaps
Contra-Partita for double bass trio
Low Priority Sonata
Four Journeys and an Arrival
Distant Dreams - Forgotten Memories for violin and double bass
Parallel Shadows
contemporary music
set theory
tonal center
International Society of Bassists
1978 International Double Bass Competition
Abstract:This study is an examination of the British composer David Ellis (b. 1933) and his seven works for solo and chamber music. The study explores the background of the composer and the seven works in general, analyzes the works for double bass, and discusses issues of performance goals in them. Ellis’s Sonata for Unaccompanied Double Bass, op. 42 (1977) is his first composition written for the double bass, and the techniques and dramatic expression of the work inspired me to do the study. His music provides a good opportunity for double bass players to address more challenging techniques of both hands and comprehend contemporary compositional manners. Having been inspired by Sonata op. 42, I discovered six more pieces, including four for double bass and piano, a trio for three double basses, and one duo for double bass and violin. The seven compositions chronologically are Sonata op. 42, Safranski’s Heroic Leaps for Double Bass and Piano, op. 67 (2001), Contra-Partita Per Bassi for Double Bass Trio, op. 69 (2001), Low Priority – Sonata for Double Bass and Piano, op. 74 (2002), Four Journeys and an Arrival for Double Bass and Piano, op. 81 (2006), Distant Dreams – Forgotten Memories for Violin and Double Bass, op. 82 (2007), and Parallel shadows for Double Bass and Piano, op. 84 (2008).
Issue Date:2019
Publisher:School of Music, College of Fine and Applied Arts, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
Rights Information:Copyright 2019 Yi-Hung Ma
Date Available in IDEALS:2019-03-27

This item appears in the following Collection(s)

Item Statistics