Note:This thesis is part of a research project submitted in partial fulfillment of the degree of Doctor of Musical Arts in the School of Music. The project also involved the preparation and performance of a recital of music related to the thesis topic.

Files in this item



application/pdfTrent Shuey_thesis.pdf (4MB)Restricted to U of Illinois
(no description provided)PDF


Title:A performance guide to the marimba music of Jared Beynon, Harold Farberman, James Lauth, Akmal Parwez, and Steven Rosenhaus; with accompanying recital
Author(s):Shuey, Trent William
Advisor(s):Moersch, William
Contributor(s):Moersch, William; Barrett, Janet Revell; Flores, Ricardo; Taylor, Stephen
Department / Program:School of Music
Degree Granting Institution:University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
Degree:A.Mus.D. (doctoral)
Wiliam Moersch
Jared Beynon
Harold Farberman
James Lauth
Akmal Parwez
Steven Rosenhaus
Abstract:Well-established American composers began writing solo marimba music in 1980. One of the primary persons responsible for this movement was William Moersch. Moersch commissioned over a dozen works for solo marimba between 1980 and 1989 from composers such as Irwin Bazelon, Richard Rodney Bennett, Eric Ewazen, Jacob Druckman, Roger Reynolds, Andrew Thomas, and those studied in this document. Two of these composers, Jacob Druckman and Roger Reynolds, are recipients of the Pulitzer Prize in Music.This document is a performance guide to five of these commissions for solo marimba written between 1983 and 1985. Three of the five pieces are world premieres, thirty-five years after their conception: Devil Dog (1983) by Jared Beynon; Sonata for Marimba (1983, revised and completed 2018) by James Lauth; and Banyan Boughs for solo marimba (1985) by Akmal Parwez. Of the other two pieces, “A” Train (1985) by Harold Farberman was premiered by Darin Kamstra, and Mission Music (1985) by Steven L. Rosenhaus was premiered by William Moersch. All five of these pieces are either dedicated to or commissioned by William Moersch.
Issue Date:2020
Publisher:School of Music, College of Fine and Applied Arts, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
Genre:Dissertation / Thesis
Rights Information:Copyright 2020 Trent William Shuey
Date Available in IDEALS:2020-04-28

This item appears in the following Collection(s)

Item Statistics