Files in this item



application/pdf9512303.pdf (3MB)Restricted to U of Illinois
(no description provided)PDF


Title:A Comparative Analysis of Works by Morton Feldman
Author(s):Bohn, David Mark
Doctoral Committee Chair(s):Brooks, William
Department / Program:Music
Discipline:Musical Arts
Degree Granting Institution:University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
Abstract:The purpose of this paper is to show that the years 1970-1976 were a period of transition in the career of American composer Morton Feldman (1926-1987), the choice of these years determined by (a) Feldman's return to the use of purely traditional notation after many years of experimentation and (b) the date of the last work of less than ten minutes duration. This is accomplished by analyzing four works which date from this period, Madame Press Died Last Week at Ninety, The Viola In My Life (2), Voices and Instruments, and Routine Investigations; generalizations are then made from the four analyses which are reinforced by observations drawn from two additional works that date from this period, Rothko Chapel and Instruments (1). Two works that pre- and postdate this period, Eleven Instruments from 1953 and Principal Sound from 1980, are then analyzed relative to the generalizations drawn from the works dating from 1970-1976; Eleven Instruments is found to have little if anything in common with the works from 1970-1976, while the opposite is true for Principal Sound.
Issue Date:1994
Rights Information:Copyright 1994 Bohn, David Mark
Date Available in IDEALS:2011-05-07
Identifier in Online Catalog:AAI9512303
OCLC Identifier:(UMI)AAI9512303

This item appears in the following Collection(s)

Item Statistics