Files in this item



application/pdf9712258.pdf (5MB)Restricted to U of Illinois
(no description provided)PDF


Title:The chamber music of Jean Francaix: A clarinetist's perspective
Author(s):Donaghue, Margaret A.
Doctoral Committee Chair(s):Harris, James David
Department / Program:Music
Degree Granting Institution:University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
Abstract:Jean Francaix, an accomplished pianist, has been composing in virtually every genre for over seventy years. In this, the year of his eighty-fourth birthday, he is still composing and performing. Despite the fact that he has made a prolific contribution to instrumental chamber music, his music is not well known in this country. A study of his music has not been undertaken to this point, and is long overdue.
The following is a discussion of Francaix's woodwind chamber music. Four works have been chosen for study: Quatuor, flute, oboe, clarinet, bassoon, 1933; Woodwind Quintette No. 1, flute, oboe, clarinet, bassoon, horn, 1948; Quintette, for clarinet and string quartet, 1978; and Sixtuor, flute, oboe, clarinet, bass clarinet, bassoon, horn 1992. The purpose of this study is to explore Francaix's music, which spans over seven decades. The pieces discussed are presented chronologically, and will be discussed in terms of form, harmony, melody and phrase, rhythm, texture, and performance aspects as they pertain to clarinetists.
Issue Date:1996
Rights Information:Copyright 1996 Donaghue, Margaret A.
Date Available in IDEALS:2011-05-07
Identifier in Online Catalog:AAI9712258
OCLC Identifier:(UMI)AAI9712258

This item appears in the following Collection(s)

Item Statistics