Files in this item



application/pdf8114489.pdf (6MB)Restricted to U of Illinois
(no description provided)PDF


Title:A Performance Analysis of the Solo Clarinet Works of Halsey Stevens
Author(s):Topolewski, Timothy
Department / Program:Music
Degree Granting Institution:University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
Subject(s):Education, Music
Abstract:This dissertation is a detailed study of the published solo clarinet works by the American composer Halsey Stevens. The first chapter is a statement of the purpose, delimitations and procedures employed. The second chapter is a biographical sketch of the composer. The remaining eight chapters are devoted to the following works: Three Hungarian Folksongs, Highgate Press; Andante Manuscript. Four Folksongs of Touraine, Editio Helios. Twelve Melodic Studies, Peer International. Serenade, Editio Helios. Dittico, Editio Helios. Suite, C. F. Peters. Concerto, Peer International.
Each work is discussed in terms of form, melody, harmony, rhythm and meter, texture, technical problems for the clarinet and ensemble problems.
The final chapter is a summary based on the composer's use of the elements that were examined.
Two appendices are included: A. Complete list of Stevens Compositions to August 1980. 1. Band; 2. Chamber Music; 3. Keyboard Music; 4. Choral Music; 5. Orchestral Music; 6. Vocal Music; 7. Transcriptions of music by other composers.
The works examined have revealed a composer whose music reflects an adherence to tonality and traditional compositional procedures. The skillful, yet uncluttered, use of structure, rhythmic asymmetries and harmonic freedom are characteristic of the works for clarinet discussed in this study.
Issue Date:1981
Description:184 p.
Thesis (D.M.A.)--University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, 1981.
Other Identifier(s):(UMI)AAI8114489
Date Available in IDEALS:2014-12-14
Date Deposited:1981

This item appears in the following Collection(s)

Item Statistics