Note:This thesis is part of a research project submitted in partial fulfillment of the degree of Doctor of Musical Arts in the School of Music. The project also involved the preparation and performance of a recital of music related to the thesis topic.

Files in this item



application/pdfYi-Wen Chen.pdf (9MB)Restricted to U of Illinois
(no description provided)PDF


Title:The Exploration Of New Sounds: The Commission, Collaboration, And Performance Of Works For Clarinet And Electroacoustic Music
Author(s):Chen, Yi-Wen
Advisor(s):Browning, Zack
Contributor(s):Associate Professor J. David Harris; Ericson, Christopher; Solis, Gabriel
Department / Program:School of Music
Degree Granting Institution:University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
Degree:A.Mus.D. (doctoral)
Subject(s):Yi-Wen Chen
Halim Beere
Daniel Swilley
Kyle Rowan
Abstract:This document is a comprehensive study of a commissioning project for clarinet and electroacoustic music. Three composers were commissioned to write for Eb Clarinet, Bb Clarinet, and fixed media or real-time electroacoustic music. Comments concerning performance and technical requirements for each of the three commissioned works are provided through an examination of the scores. In addition, the collaborative process is reviewed and analyzed for implications related to future performances and commissions.
Issue Date:2014-05
Publisher:University of Illinois
Citation Info:Chen, Yi-Wen. THE EXPLORATION OF NEW SOUNDS: THE COMMISSION, COLLABORATION, AND PERFORMANCE OF WORKS FOR CLARINET AND ELECTROACOUSTIC MUSIC. Doctoral Project thesis submitted at the University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign School of Music, 2014.
Genre:Dissertation / Thesis
Date Available in IDEALS:2015-04-02

This item appears in the following Collection(s)

Item Statistics