Note:This thesis is part of a research project submitted in partial fulfillment of the degree of Doctor of Musical Arts in the School of Music. The project also involved the preparation and performance of a recital of music related to the thesis topic.

Files in this item



application/pdfChih-Wei Chang_Thesis.pdf (5MB)Restricted to U of Illinois
(no description provided)PDF


Title:Selected Concertos And Variations By Gotthelf Heinrich Kummer (1774-1857): A Performance Edition With Commentary
Author(s):Chang, Chih-Wei
Advisor(s):Moersch, Charlotte Mattax
Contributor(s):Associate Professor Timothy McGovern; Tharp, Reynold; Alwes, Chester
Department / Program:School of Music
Degree Granting Institution:University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
Degree:A.Mus.D. (doctoral)
Abstract:This thesis presents a performance edition of four bassoon pieces by Gotthelf Heinrich Kummer (1774-1857): Concerto Op. 16 in B-flat major, Concerto Op. 24 in F major, Variations Op. 14 in F major, and Variations Op. 15 in B-flat major. The edition includes the full score, a piano reduction, cadenzas, and a scholarly preface that addresses relevant aspects of performance practice. Kummer is a German bassoon virtuoso and composer who wrote several bassoon concertos and variations as well as chamber music. His works represent idiomatic writing for the bassoon and demonstrate his understanding of the instrument. The present edition will introduce Kummer to present-day performers and make the selected works more accessible to bassoonists.
Issue Date:2015-04
Publisher:University of Illinois
Citation Info:Chang, Chih-Wei. SELECTED CONCERTOS AND VARIATIONS BY GOTTHELF HEINRICH KUMMER (1774-1857): A PERFORMANCE EDITION WITH COMMENTARY. Doctoral Project thesis submitted at the University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign School of Music, 2015.
Genre:Dissertation / Thesis
Date Available in IDEALS:2015-04-22

This item appears in the following Collection(s)

Item Statistics