Files in this item



application/pdf3130991.pdf (28MB)Restricted to U of Illinois
(no description provided)PDF


Title:A Study and Critical Edition of Samuel Capricornus's "Theatrum Musicum" (1669, 1670) and "Continuatio Theatri Musici" (1669)
Author(s):Newton, Timothy D.
Doctoral Committee Chair(s):Hill, John Walter
Department / Program:Music
Degree Granting Institution:University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
Abstract:This study of the sacred concertos in the Theatrum musicum [RISM C937] and Continuatio theatri musici [RISM C938] includes a modern critical edition, an examination of three known exemplars, a brief text study, a discussion of stylistic category, and an appraisal of the collection's musical style for the purpose of identifying a composer. Three works in the Continuatio theatri musici, besides Judicium Salomonis, are spurious or doubtful. Based on recent research, one concerto is now positively ascribed to Vincenzo Albrici, and two others share attribution with Johann Caspar Kerll and Johann Schmelzer in other collections. However, this study proposes that at least two of the remaining four sacred concertos in the second part are Capricomus's work. Most importantly, the entire first part of Theatrum musicum is unquestionably his work, consisting of ten concertos sharing similar modal, signature, final and textual parameters. The remaining two concertos are brief, liturgical text settings. Thus, not all of Capricornus's posthumously published works are misattributed.
Issue Date:2004
Description:492 p.
Thesis (D.M.A.)--University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, 2004.
Other Identifier(s):(MiAaPQ)AAI3130991
Date Available in IDEALS:2015-09-25
Date Deposited:2004

This item appears in the following Collection(s)

Item Statistics