Files in this item



application/pdf3290212.pdf (5MB)Restricted to U of Illinois
(no description provided)PDF


Title:Selected Chamber Music of the Clarinetist/composer Eric Mandat: A Performer's Perspective
Author(s):Crookshank, Suzanne M.
Doctoral Committee Chair(s):Von Gunden, Heidi
Department / Program:Music
Degree Granting Institution:University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
Abstract:Eric Mandat has established himself as one of the more highly regarded composers of new music for clarinet. He has done this primarily through performing his works around the world at clarinet and composer conferences. So far, his most well known works are for unaccompanied clarinet, although in recent years he has begun composing more for small ensembles that include one or more clarinets. In this paper I discuss three of Mandat's chamber music compositions--- 3 for 2 (for clarinet and percussion), So What Elsa's New? (for two clarinets), and One Liners (for three clarinets). These works, while employing extended techniques such as quarter tones and multiphonics, also use recognizable forms and clear rhythmic and melodic motives to make them accessible to the listener and the performer. A formal analysis of each work illuminates these three works, of which many clarinetists are unfamiliar, so that both performers and composers may gain further insight into new music for clarinet, and new chamber music in particular.
Issue Date:2007
Description:133 p.
Thesis (A.Mus.D.)--University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, 2007.
Other Identifier(s):(MiAaPQ)AAI3290212
Date Available in IDEALS:2015-09-25
Date Deposited:2007

This item appears in the following Collection(s)

Item Statistics