Files in this item



application/pdf3314747.pdf (4MB)Restricted to U of Illinois
(no description provided)PDF


Title:Gyorgy Orban's Mass Compositions (1989--1999): An Analysis of Masses 1,5, and 9
Author(s):Choi, Jung Il
Doctoral Committee Chair(s):Alwes, Chester L.
Department / Program:Music
Degree Granting Institution:University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
Abstract:This dissertation will examine three of the eleven masses composed by Gyorgy Orban (b. 1947) between 1989 and 1999---Mass No. 1 (1989), the Missa Quinta (1992), and Mass No. 9 (1999). These three masses represent one-half of the six masses that are currently published. As representative works spanning a decade in Orban's life, we will examine their vocal and instrumental scoring, overall length and general accessibility. The dissertation begins with a short biography of the composer, an overview of his entire choral output, and his attitude towards mass composition, followed by a discussion of the three representative masses in terms of their genesis, use of the shared text, role of voices and instruments and consistency of formal design in movements using the same text. Next, the formative role of text, the various processes of musical form, melodic construction, thematic reference, meter and rhythm, and harmony will be ascertained in relation to each of the three masses. An analysis of the Gloria of the Missa Quinta will provide a comprehensive overview of the interaction of these various factors within a single composition. From these different approaches we will then draw conclusions concerning the similarities and differences found in the Masses composed by Orban within the decade 1989-1999.
Issue Date:2008
Description:194 p.
Thesis (D.M.A.)--University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, 2008.
Other Identifier(s):(MiAaPQ)AAI3314747
Date Available in IDEALS:2015-09-25
Date Deposited:2008

This item appears in the following Collection(s)

Item Statistics