Files in this item



application/pdf9904536.pdf (10MB)Restricted to U of Illinois
(no description provided)PDF


Title:The Self-Conscious Ensemble in Selected Twentieth-Century Vocal Works
Author(s):Matheson, Laurie Christine
Doctoral Committee Chair(s):William F. Brooks
Department / Program:Music
Degree Granting Institution:University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
Subject(s):Sociology, Social Structure and Development
Abstract:The pieces discussed include Time and Motion Study III by Brian Ferneyhough, Hallelujah and Anagrama by Mauricio Kagel, Maledetto by Kenneth Gaburo, Mots by Betsy Jolas, Stimmung by Karlheinz Stockhausen, Untitled by William Brooks, Aventures by Gyorgy Ligeti, and Coro and Passaggio by Luciano Berio. Most of these experimental pieces emerged out of the period of social, political, and cultural upheaval that lasted from the mid-sixties to the mid-seventies. Vocal ensemble music engaged with its own social discourse--self-conscious ensemble music--was peculiarly suited to this period's intense interest in issues of human connection, such as overcoming entrenched systems of power by building on the common brotherhood of man. By exploring new avenues of language, sound, and gesture, the ensemble enacts the exploration that composers--and others--believed to be essential to the remaking of the world.
Issue Date:1998
Description:233 p.
Thesis (D.M.A.)--University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, 1998.
Other Identifier(s):(MiAaPQ)AAI9904536
Date Available in IDEALS:2015-09-25
Date Deposited:1998

This item appears in the following Collection(s)

Item Statistics