Note:This thesis is part of a research project submitted in partial fulfillment of the degree of Doctor of Musical Arts in the School of Music. The project also involved the preparation and performance of a recital of music related to the thesis topic.

Files in this item



application/pdfYu-Hsuan Liao_Thesis.pdf (2MB)Restricted to U of Illinois
(no description provided)PDF


Title:A performer's guide to four clarinet works by William Bolcom: Concert Piece, Little Suite of Four Dances, Concerto for Clarinet, and Chalumeau
Author(s):Liao, Yu-Hsuan
Advisor(s):Harris, J. David
Contributor(s):Harris, J. David; Moersch, Charlotte Mattax; McGovern, Timothy; Solya, Andrea
Department / Program:School of Music
Degree Granting Institution:University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
Degree:A.Mus.D. (doctoral)
Abstract:American composer William Bolcom (b. 1938) established his reputation through his use of diverse styles namely atonality, interval series, neoclassicism, jazz, pop music, and ragtime. However, his clarinet repertoire does not receive as much attention as his other works and lacks scholarly documentation. In order to provide a comprehensive approach for fellow clarinetists, this document explores four commissioned pieces written by Bolcom: Concert-Piece (1959), Little Suite of Four Dances (1984), Concerto for Clarinet (1988), and Chalumeau (2004), providing background information, analytical overviews, and performance ideas for each piece. To further verify the findings of this document, the author has also interacted with the composer through e-mail correspondence and in-person coaching sessions.
Issue Date:2017-04-07
Publisher:School of Music. College of Fine and Applied Arts. University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign.
Genre:Dissertation / Thesis
Rights Information:Copyright 2017 Yu-Hsuan Liao
Date Available in IDEALS:2017-05-22

This item appears in the following Collection(s)

Item Statistics